Healthy Eating Guide

healthy_guide_header
ARAMARK introduced a Healthy for Life nutritional program in Fall 2013.  Healthy for Life is a comprehensive, unified platform for health and wellness on campus.  This program creates a culture of health and wellness that enables and encourages health and well-being, engages the campus community to actively participate and connect to a culture of wellness as well as encourage student and faculty/staff to have interest in and excitement about healthy choices. Look for the 3D-Digital Wellness Centers at both the Fresh Food Company and Gator Corner Dining Center.   Custom literature displays and brochures are also available.  Contact Raina Rivera, Gator Dining’s Registered Dietitian, rivera-raina@aramark.com  for specific dietary questions or concerns.

Food is the fuel your body needs to function. Chances are you’re pretty careful about what you put into your car’s gas tank. Shouldn’t you care at least as much about what you eat? Today there’s a wider variety of foods to choose from than ever before. Making smart choices is a critical part of any total health plan. When you combine a well-balanced diet with moderate exercise, it can help you feel better and keep off unwanted pounds, while avoiding the revolving door of dieting. Dining Services believes that good nutrition is essential to good health. To help assist you in furnishing your body with the essentials for a healthy diet, we have several tools to offer. First, every day we offer vegetarian/vegan items at all locations. We also offer assistance from a registered dietitian. If you have special dietary needs or concerns, please contact us and we will get you in touch with Student Health Care Services or our nutritionist. For quick reference and education on healthy eating, we have nutritional web site links to help you. If you don’t see what you need, or have suggestions, please contact us at Gator Dining feedback. We welcome your suggestions. ARAMARK works with the American Dietetic Association (ADA) to develop joint consumer education programs, elevate awareness of dietitians as the nation’s nutrition experts, and make a greater impact on public health, ARAMARK is the only professional services management company to be an ADA Partner. For more information and specific questions, please contact Gator Dining’s Registered Dietitian rivera-raina@aramark.com

Nutritional Websites

General Nutrition

Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics:  www.eatright.org
Center for Science in the Public Interest:    www.cspinet.org
National Institute of Health:    www.nih.gov
USDA:    www.usda.gov
Medline Plus:    medlineplus.gov
The American Dietetic Association – SCAN:    www.scandpg.org
Runners World:    www.runnersworld.com
American Council for Exercise:   www.acefitness.org

Diabetes

The American Diabetes Association:   www.diabetes.org
Diabetic Cooking:    www.diabeticcooking.com

Food Allergies

The Food Allergy Network:    www.foodallergy.org
Gluten Intolerance Group:   www.gluten.net
National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases:   www.niaid.nih.gov

Cooking

Cooking Light:   www.cookinglight.com
The World’s Greatest Recipe Collection:    www.epicurious.com

Vegetarian

Vegetarian Resource Group:    www.vrg.org
Vegetarian Times:    www.vegetariantimes.com
Veggie Life:   www.veggielife.net

University of Florida

Student Health Care Center:    www.shcc.ufl.edu
Students for a Healthy Gator:    http://www.ufsa.ufl.edu/students/health/health_gators/

National Brands on Campus

Boar’s Head:    www.boarshead.com
Chick-fil-A:    www.chick-fil-a.com
Einstein Bros. Bagels:    www.einsteinbros.com
Freshen’s:   www.freshens.com
Jamba Juice:   www.jambajuice.com
Java City:    www.javacity.com
KFC Express:    www.kfc.com
Moe’s Southwest Grill:    www.moes.com
Panda Express:   www.pandaexpress.com
Papa John’s:    www.papajohns.com
Pollo Tropical:   www.pollotropical.com
Rising Roll:    www.risingroll.com
Salad Creations:    www.saladcreations.net
Starbucks:    www.starbucks.com
Subway:    www.subway.com
Wendy’s:   www.wendys.com