Tip of the Day:

Peanut butter is ‘stick to your ribs’ good stuff. It has protein and minerals like magnesium and iron, and tastes great. Peanuts and peanut butter contain fat, so watch your portions.

 

click here for A complete guide of helpful tips on making smart food choices across campus!


 

ARAMARK is introducing a new Healthy for Life nutritional program in Fall 2013.  Healthy for Life is a comprehensive, unified platform for health and wellness on campus.  This program will create a culture of health and wellness that enables and encourages health and well-being, engages the campus community to actively participate and connect to a culture of wellness as well as encourage student and faculty/staff to have interest in and excitement about healthy choices.

Look for the 3D-Digital Wellness Centers at both the Fresh Food Company and Gator Corner Dining Center.   Custom literature displays and brochures will also be available.  Contact Hannah Stahmer, Gator Dining’s Registered Dietitian, at stahmer@ufl.edu for specific dietary questions or concerns.

Food is the fuel your body needs to function. Chances are you’re pretty careful about what you put into your car’s gas tank. Shouldn’t you care at least as much about what you eat? Today there’s a wider variety of foods to choose from than ever before. Making smart choices is a critical part of any total health plan. When you combine a well-balanced diet with moderate exercise, it can help you feel better and keep off unwanted pounds, while avoiding the revolving door of dieting.

Dining Services believes that good nutrition is essential to good health. To help assist you in furnishing your body with the essentials for a healthy diet, we have several tools to offer. First, every day we offer vegetarian/vegan items at all locations. We also offer assistance from a registered dietician. If you have special dietary needs or concerns, please contact us and we will get you in touch with Student Health Care Services or our nutritionist. For quick reference and education on healthy eating, we have nutritional web site links to help you.

If you don’t see what you need, or have suggestions, please contact us at Gator Dining feedback. We welcome your suggestions.

ARAMARK works with the American Dietetic Association (ADA) to develop joint consumer education programs, elevate awareness of dietitians as the nation’s nutrition experts, and make a greater impact on public health, ARAMARK is the only professional services management company to be an ADA Partner.

 

Nutritional Websites

General Nutrition
American Dietetic Association www.eatright.org
Center for Science in the Public Interest www.cspinet.org
National Institute of Health www.nih.gov
USDA www.usda.gov
My Pyramid.gov www.mypyramid.gov
Medline Plus medlineplus.gov
Food and Nutrition Information Center http://fnic.nal.usda.gov/nal_display/index.php?tax_level=1&info_center=4

Sports Nutrition

The American Dietetic Association – SCAN www.scandpg.org
Runners World www.runnersworld.com
American Council for Exercise www.acefitness.org

Diabetes

The American Diabetes Association www.diabetes.org
Diabetic Cooking www.diabeticcooking.com

Food Allergies

The Food Allergy Network www.foodallergy.org
Gluten Intolerance Group www.gluten.net
National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases www.niaid.nih.gov

Cooking

Cooking Light www.cookinglight.com
The World’s Greatest Recipe Collection www.epicurious.com

Vegetarian

Vegetarian Resource Group www.vrg.org
Vegetarian Times www.vegetariantimes.com
Veggie Life www.veggielife.com

PepsiCo Inc.

Smart Spot www.smartspot.com

United States Department of Agriculture

choosemyplate.gov www.choosemyplate.gov

University of Florida

Student Health Care Center www.shcc.ufl.edu
Students for a Healthy Gator www.healthygators.hhp.ufl.edu

National Brands on Campus

Boar’s Head www.boarshead.com
Burger King www.burgerking.com
Chick-fil-A www.chick-fil-a.com
Einstein Bros. Bagels www.einsteinbros.com
Freshen’s www.freshens.com
Jamba Juice www.jambajuice.com
Java City www.javacity.com
KFC Express www.kfc.com
Moe’s Southwest Grill www.moes.com
Panda Express www.pandaexpress.com
Papa John’s www.papajohns.com
Pollo Tropical www.pollotropical.com
Salad Creations www.saladcreations.net
Starbucks www.starbucks.com
Subway www.subway.com